- The Global Egyptian Museum, produced under the patronage of the International Committee for Egyptology (CIPEG) of the Committee of the International Council of Museums (ICOM-UNESCO) and hosted at the Center for Cultural Documentation and Cultural Heritage (CULTNAT).
- The Virtual Egyptian Museum, a joint project of the California Institute of World Archeology (CIWA) and the Senusret Collection.
The Department of Egyptian Antiquities was created 15 May 1826 by royal decree of Charles X. He made Jean-François Champollion, who had just acquired the collection of the English consul Salt (4000 coins), the curator of what was called then the Egyptian Museum. It was installed in the south wing of the Cour Carrée and arranged with the help of the architect Fontaine. The paintings of the ceilings are due to François Édouard Picot (The Study and Genius of the arts unveiling Egypt to Greece) and Abel de Pujol (Egypt rescued by Joseph).
The collection has been greatly enlarged by Mariette, with more than 6000 objects brought back from the Memphis Serapeum excavations. The other objects come from excavations operated by the French Institute of Cairo, a fund from the Guimet Museum (1948) and various purchases.
Currently, the pharaonic halls (Ptolemaic era included) are on the ground floor and on the first floor of the Cour Carrée (Sully region), the Roman and Coptic rooms on the ground floor and mezzanine of the Denon region (around of the Department of Arts of Islam).
99, rue de Rivoli 75001
Metro Palais Royal - Louvre
Tél: +01 47 70 86 86
Fax: +01 47 70 86 87
Open daily (except Tuesdays) from 09h00 to 18h00.
Nocturnes on Wednesdays and Fridays until 21h45.
* The Rodin Museum :
Its material situation assured, Auguste Rodin formed between 1890 and 1917 a collection of objects particularly imposing. About 800 Egyptian antiquities were thus gathered in the Villa of Brillants, place of residence and work of the sculptor.
Come and discover Rodin's Egyptian collection on
The study and publication of these objects, largely unpublished, are conducted jointly by Bénédicte Garnier (Rodin Museum) and Nathalie Lienhard (Paris-Sorbonne University). The catalog will be published online on the Rodin Museum website. The first records are displayed from 2013.
From 1893 to his death in 1917, sculptor Auguste Rodin (1840-1917) collected Egyptian, Greek and Roman antiquities, as well as pieces from Asia or Europe from the Middle Ages to the 19th centurye century. He collected in his villa Brillants at Meudon, and from 1908 at the Hotel Biron in Paris, more than six thousand pieces, including about eight hundred Egyptian origin. This gigantic collection can be considered as one of her creations: she took place in the heart of the workshop, among her own sculptures and drawings. The sculptor even chose, among the Greek or Egyptian objects, the material of his assemblages, bringing together his plaster figures to the objects of the collection.
The site completes the visit with Coptic fabrics, round bumps, alabaster vases, reliefs, masks. A magnifying glass makes it possible to explore the smallest details of a work, a Google Earth map makes it possible to locate the excavation sites and a chronological frieze allows to plunge into the eras of ancient Egypt. The site also offers a unique tool for the discovery, transcription and translation of hieroglyphs. To discover here in Pdf format
In 1977, supported by a large part of the inhabitants of Figeac, the municipality decided to restore the birthplace of Champollion and make it a museum dedicated to the illustrious decipherer of hieroglyphs.
* The Turin museum:
Le Egyptian Museum of Turin ou museum of Egyptian antiquities of Turin (Museo delle antichità egizie di Torino) has one of the largest Egyptological collections of the world. It is the ninth largest museum in terms ofegyptological objects after the Egyptian Museum of Cairo, with 6 works exposed and 26 in reserve.
* British Museum (London)